Grad Students Win Awards at the Association of American Geographers

From 9-13 April many of the Geographers in our Department attended and presented at the 2013 Annual Conference of the Association of American Geographers. Three graduate students came away with awards: Stèfano Bettani won an honorable mention (2nd place winner) in the AAG Sexuality and Space Specialty Group's 2013 Student Paper Competition. His winning entry was titled 'Straight Subjectivities in Homonormative Spaces: Moving Toward a New, 'Dynamic' Heteronormativity'. Skye Naslund won an honorable mention (2nd place winner) for the Jacques May Thesis Prize awarded by the Health Medical Geography Specialty Group. Her thesis is titled 'Portraits of Parasites: Geographic Imaginaries in the Production of Health Knowledge'. Jason Young won first place in the AAG Communication Geography Specialty Group Student Paper Competition. His paper was titled 'Framing the Geospatial Web: Applying Political Communication Theory to Geography'.